Commissioner Nanci E. Langley Elected Vice Chairman of the Postal Regulatory Commission

Washington, DC – The Postal Regulatory Commission (Commission) voted unanimously during a Commission public meeting on December 17, 2018 to designate Commissioner Nanci E. Langley as vice chairman of the Commission effective January 1, 2019. Agency regulations provide that the commissioners elect a member to serve as vice chairman for a term of one year. Commissioner Langley succeeds Commissioner Tony Hammond.

On December 10, 2014, Commissioner Langley was reappointed commissioner for a second term that extended through November 22, 2018.* She was first appointed as a commissioner in June 2008, and has served three previous terms as vice chairman. Commissioner Langley has over 30 years of federal public service and has extensive experience with large-scale government transformation. She served 24 years as a senior legislative and policy advisor to two United States Senators from her home state of Hawaii, as well as deputy staff director on the Senate Committee on Homeland Security subcommittee on government management and the federal workforce for nearly a decade.

A complete copy of Commissioner Langley’s biography may be viewed here: Nanci E. Langley biography





The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the U.S. Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years.  *A Commissioner may continue to serve after the expiration of his or her term until a successor is confirmed, except that a Commissioner may not continue to serve for more than 1 year after the date on which his or her term would have otherwise expired. The Chairman is designated by the President. In addition to Chairman Robert G. Taub, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Nanci E. Langley, and Commissioners Mark Acton and Tony Hammond. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator