About the Postal Regulatory Commission

The Commission is an independent agency that has exercised regulatory oversight over the Postal Service since its creation by the Postal Reorganization Act of 1970, with expanded responsibilities under the Postal Accountability and Enhancement Act of 2006. The Commission is composed of five Commissioners, each of whom is appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, for a term of six years. A Commissioner may continue to serve after the expiration of his or her term until a successor is confirmed, except that a Commissioner may not continue to serve for more than 1 year after the date on which his or her term would have otherwise expired. Not more than 3 of the Commissioners may be adherents of the same political party.

(R) Republican, (D) Democrat, (I) Independent

Current CommissionersTerm Expiration Date
Chairman Michael M. Kubayanda (D)Nov. 22, 2026
Vice Chairman Thomas G. Day (I)Oct. 14, 2028
Commissioner Ann Fisher (R)Oct. 14, 2024
Commissioner Ashley E. Poling (D)Nov. 22, 2024
Commissioner Robert G. Taub (R)Oct. 14, 2028

Assisting the Commission is a staff with expertise in law, economics, finance, statistics, and cost accounting. The Commission is organized into four operating offices:

  • Accountability and Compliance
  • General Counsel
  • Public Affairs and Government Relations
  • Secretary

The Office of Accountability & Compliance is responsible for technical analysis and formulation of policy recommendations for the Commission in both domestic and international matters. It provides the analytic support for Commission review of rate changes, negotiated service agreements, classifications of new products, post office closings, amendments to international postal treaties and conventions, as well as other issues.

The Office of General Counsel provides legal assistance on matters involving the Commission's responsibilities, defends Commission decisions before the courts, and manages the formal complaint process.

The Office of Public Affairs & Government Relations facilitates prompt and responsive communications for the Commission with the public, Congress and federal agencies, the Postal Service, and information media.

The Office of Secretary & Administration records the official actions of the Commission; preserves Commission documents; maintains personnel records; and provides other support services including managing the Commission's library, docket room, and computers.

The USPS Office of Inspector General conducts, supervises, and coordinates audits and investigations relating to the programs and operations of the Commission, and identifies and reports fraud and abuse in Commission programs and operations.