

## Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

## **Press Release**

October 3, 2024

## PRC Commissioners Appointed to a Second Term

**Washington, DC** – President Joseph Biden reappointed Ann C. Fisher and Ashley E. Poling as Commissioners of the Postal Regulatory Commission for new terms that expire on October 14, 2030, and November 22, 2030, respectively. The United States Senate unanimously confirmed both Commissioners on September 25, 2024.

The appointments of Commissioner Fisher and Commissioner Poling come at a critical time in the history of the postal industry as the Commission continues to examine the Postal Service's Delivering for America plan and its effects on service performance nationwide; and conduct its early review of the system for regulating Market Dominant rates.

Ann C. Fisher was sworn in as Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission on August 8, 2019, for a first term, following her nomination by President Donald J. Trump and confirmation by the United States Senate. Fisher originally joined the Commission in 2007, serving first as Chief of Staff to Chairman Dan G. Blair and later as Director of Public Affairs and Government Relations. Fisher spent twelve years working in the U.S. Senate, her final years as Deputy Director of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee under Chairman Susan M. Collins (R-ME). Earlier in her career, Fisher served as a Government Relations Manager at U.S. Postal Service headquarters, acting as liaison to midwestern states and the Senate Committee on Governmental Affairs. Commissioner Fisher has a M.A. degree in economics from the University of South Dakota. She resides in Harrisburg, SD and is proud to bring a rural perspective to commission discussions.

Ashley Jay Elizabeth Poling was sworn in as a Commissioner of the Postal Regulatory Commission on August 8, 2019 for her first term. Prior to joining the Commission, Commissioner Poling served as the Director of Governmental Affairs and Senior Counsel to then Ranking Member (now Chairman) Gary C. Peters (D-MI) on the U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee where she advised Senator Peters on policy issues, negotiated with stakeholders to advance bipartisan legislation, and implemented strategies to advance Senator Peters' governmental affairs priorities. Commissioner Poling also served as Senior Policy Counsel to Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) and Senator Jon Tester (D-MT) on their respective U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Subcommittees, where she focused extensively on postal reform, rural access, and service

issues. Commissioner Poling holds a JD degree from Elon University School of Law and an English degree from the College of William and Mary. She is a native of North Carolina.

The full biographical information for Commissioners Fisher and Poling is available on the Commission's website <a href="here">here</a>.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five presidentially appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Tom Day and Commissioners Ann Fisher, Ashley Poling, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.