

## Postal Regulatory Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

## **Press Release**

April 20, 2023

## PRC Initiates Public Inquiry Proceeding to Gather Information on Changes to the Postal Network

**Washington, DC** – The Postal Regulatory Commission today established <u>Public Inquiry Docket No. Pl2023-4</u> (Pl2023-4) to provide a forum to gather information, provide transparency, and learn more about the Postal Service's Delivering for America strategic initiatives that may have a significant impact on the postal community.

In the PI2023-4 docket, the Commission will issue information requests to the Postal Service regarding proposed changes to the postal network and the impact of those changes, and the Postal Service will provide responsive information. As part of this public inquiry, the Commission will seek information on the Postal Service's recently announced plans to create sorting and delivery centers to "reduce transportation and mail handling costs" by aggregating delivery units into "larger Sort and Delivery Centers with adequate space, docks, and material handling equipment to operate more efficiently."

Interested parties who wish to propose questions regarding the planned initiatives associated with the Postal Service's Strategic Plan, may do so via Docket Pl2023-4 by filing motions seeking information requests following the procedures of 39 CFR part 3010.170(e).

All materials associated with and filed in this proceeding will be available, where applicable, for review on the Commission's website, <a href="https://www.prc.gov">www.prc.gov</a>.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Mark Acton and Commissioners, Ann Fisher, Ashley Poling, and Robert Taub. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.