

Commission

Postal Regulatory Commission 901 New York Avenue, NW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20268-0001 www.prc.gov Phone: 202-789-6829 Fax: 202-789-6891

Contact: Gail Adams gail.adams@prc.gov

Press Release March 28, 2025

Commission Issues Determination Required by Law to Provide Transparency and Accountability for USPS

Washington, DC - As required by title 39 of the U.S. Code, today the Postal Regulatory Commission issued the FY 2024 <u>Annual Compliance Determination</u> assessing the Postal Service's compliance with standards for service performance and legal requirements for rates. The Determination is based on an analysis of information provided by the Postal Service. The law requires the Commission to take action to address noncompliance by the Postal Service.

The Commission finds that 19 out of 27 Market Dominant products or categories failed to meet their service performance targets and no category of First-Class Mail met its target in FY 2024. The Commission directs the Postal Service to take corrective action to improve service performance and increase transparency.

For Competitive products as a whole, the Commission finds that total revenues were higher than cost coverage requirements, meeting the law's prohibition against cross-subsidizing Competitive products. The Commission also finds that some Market Dominant mail classes and products failed to cover their costs, while multiple Competitive products did not cover their costs. For individual products and classes that lost money in FY 2024, the Commission directs the Postal Service to take action to ensure that these products comply with the law by covering their costs.

The Postal Regulatory Commission is an independent federal agency that provides regulatory oversight over the Postal Service to ensure the transparency and accountability of the Postal Service and foster a vital and efficient universal mail system. The Commission is comprised of five Presidentially-appointed and Senate-confirmed Commissioners, each serving terms of six years. The President designates the Chairman. In addition to Chairman Michael Kubayanda, the other commissioners are Vice Chairman Robert Taub and Commissioners Ann Fisher, Ashley Poling, and Thomas Day. Follow the PRC on Twitter: @PostalRegulator and LinkedIn.